Understanding Islam Beliefs and Principles | Noor Academy

Islam Beliefs and Principles

Islam is the second largest religion in the world and the number of followers keeps increasing every day. When learning about Islam online it is important to learn from a trusted source, not from the media.

Therefore, today we will learn the meaning of Islam, its beliefs, and more, let’s get started.

What is the Meaning of Islam?

The word Islam means the free submission to Allah, the one and only God, the submission comes from the heart. Islam was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (Peace and blessings be upon him), and the holy Quran is the word of Allah that was given to us to guide us in life.

Islam calls for peace, mercy, justice, tolerance, equality, love, truth, forgiveness, patience, morality, sincerity, and righteousness.

What is the meaning of Muslim?

The word Muslims refers to follower of Islam, who believes in Allah and the prophets, believing that there is only one God, Allah. Muslims follow the teachings of the Quran and the prophet Muhammad (Peace and blessings be upon him)

Muslims respect all religions and believe in all the prophets, as the prophet Muhammad (peace and blessings be upon him)

“Beware!  Whoever is cruel and hard on a non-Muslim minority, or curtails their rights, or burdens them with more than they can bear, or takes anything from them against their free will; I (Prophet Muhammad) will complain against the person on the Day of Judgment.” (Abu Dawud)


Allah said in the holy Quran:

قُلْ ءَامَنَّا بِٱللَّهِ وَمَآ أُنزِلَ عَلَيْنَا وَمَآ أُنزِلَ عَلَىٰٓ إِبْرَٰهِيمَ وَإِسْمَـٰعِيلَ وَإِسْحَـٰقَ وَيَعْقُوبَ وَٱلْأَسْبَاطِ وَمَآ أُوتِىَ مُوسَىٰ وَعِيسَىٰ وَٱلنَّبِيُّونَ مِن رَّبِّهِمْ لَا نُفَرِّقُ بَيْنَ أَحَدٍۢ مِّنْهُمْ وَنَحْنُ لَهُۥ مُسْلِمُونَ ٨٤

Say, ˹O Prophet,˺ “We believe in Allah and what has been revealed to us and what was revealed to Abraham, Ishmael, Isaac, Jacob, and his descendants; and what was given to Moses, Jesus, and other prophets from their Lord—we make no distinction between any of them, and to Him, we ˹fully˺ submit.” [3:84]


Allah also says in the Holy Quran:

لَآ إِكْرَاهَ فِى ٱلدِّينِ ۖ قَد تَّبَيَّنَ ٱلرُّشْدُ مِنَ ٱلْغَىِّ ۚ فَمَن يَكْفُرْ بِٱلطَّـٰغُوتِ وَيُؤْمِنۢ بِٱللَّهِ فَقَدِ ٱسْتَمْسَكَ بِٱلْعُرْوَةِ ٱلْوُثْقَىٰ لَا ٱنفِصَامَ لَهَا ۗ وَٱللَّهُ سَمِيعٌ عَلِيمٌ ٢٥٦

“Let there be no compulsion in religion, for the truth stands out clearly from falsehood.1 So whoever renounces false gods and believes in Allah has certainly grasped the firmest, unfailing hand-hold. And Allah is All-Hearing, All-Knowing.” [2:256]

Muslims don’t force anyone to convert to Islam, because everyone is free to choose his/her religion.

What are Islam Beliefs and Principles?       

Here are some of the Islam’s beliefs and Principles: 

1- Muslims believe that there is no God but Allah, he is the only one to be worshipped and obeyed, and no one shares Allah’s divinity.

“And Allah makes none to share in His decision and His rule.” (Holy Quran 18:26)

2- Allah created all the creatures even humans.

3- Muslims believe that everything happens for a reason and that life is nothing but a test they should pass to be rewarded in the afterlife.

4- They believe in the day of judgment.

5- Allah created us equal, no one is superior to another, and we are instructed to respect one another regardless of religion, race, nationality, or anything else.

6- human diversity is something to be loved and respected. Allah said in the Holy Quran:

يَـٰٓأَيُّهَا ٱلنَّاسُ إِنَّا خَلَقْنَـٰكُم مِّن ذَكَرٍۢ وَأُنثَىٰ وَجَعَلْنَـٰكُمْ شُعُوبًۭا وَقَبَآئِلَ لِتَعَارَفُوٓا۟ ۚ إِنَّ أَكْرَمَكُمْ عِندَ ٱللَّهِ أَتْقَىٰكُمْ ۚ إِنَّ ٱللَّهَ عَلِيمٌ خَبِيرٌۭ ١٣

“O humanity! Indeed, we created you from a male and a female and made you into peoples and tribes so that you may get to know one another. Surely the most noble of you in the sight of Allah is the most righteous among you. Allah is truly All-Knowing, All-Aware.” [49:13]


7- Muslims believe in the five pillars of Islam, which are: Shahada (Testify), Salah (Prayer), Seyam (Fasting), Zakat (Charity), and Hajj (Pilgrimage).


8- The 6 Pillars of Faith are Belief in God (Allah), Belief in Mala-eka (Angels), Belief in the Books of Allah, Belief in the Prophets of Allah, Belief in Yawm al-Qiyama (Day of Judgement), Qada wal-Qada (Destiny, Divine Decree).

If you want to teach your kids about Islam beliefs and principles, enroll them in the Noor Academy Islamic Studies program.


The 5 Pillars of Islam.

The five pillars of Islam are Shahada (Testify), Salah (Prayer), Seyam (Fasting), Zakat (Charity), and Hajj (Pilgrimage). Let’s learn about each one of them:

1. Shahada (Creed).

Shahada is the declaration of faith in one God (Allah) and His messenger Muhammad, it’s said as follows:

Transliteration: “Ash-hadu an la ilaha illa Allah, Wa ash-hadu anna Muhammadan Rasulu-Allah.”


Translation: “I bear witness that there is no God but God (Allah – i.e., there is none worthy of worship but Allah), and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.”


2. Salah (Prayer).

Prayer is mandatory for every Muslim after reaching puberty. There are five obligatory prayers called Fajr, Duhr, Asr, Maghrib, and Isha, each one is prayed at a specific time. Muslims are required to perform what is called ablution (wudu) before praying.


3- Siyam (Fasting).

Fasting the month of Ramadan is part of Islam beliefs, all capable Muslims are obligated to fast from Fajr to Maghrib. When fasting, Muslims abstain from eating, drinking, smoking, and chewing gum. During fasting Muslims try not to swear, say mean things, argue with others, or do anything bad.


4. Zakah (Charity).

Every capable Muslim is obligated to give out zakat as long as their wealth reached the Nisab, only then they are obligated to give out 2.5% of their wealth to charity. That’s one of the Islam believes and principles.

People who are eligible for Zakat are mentioned in the following verse:

“Sadaqah (i.e. Zakat) is for the poor, the needy, those employed to administer [the funds], those whose hearts have been reconciled [to the truth], for those in slavery, those in debt, in the cause of Allah and for the wayfarer; [thus it has been] ordained by Allah, and Allah is full of knowledge and wisdom.” [Surah Al-Taubah: 60]

From this verse, we can conclude that the people who we should give zakat are:

  • Al-Fuqara: The Poor
  • Al-Masakin: The Needy
  • Al-‘Amilina ‘Alayha: Administrators of Zakat
  • Al-Mu’allafati-Qulubuhum: Reconciliation of Hearts
  • Fir-Riqab: For those in Bondage
  • Al-Gharimin: Those in Debt
  • Fi-Sabilillah: In the Cause of Allah
  • Ibnas-Sabil: The Wayfarer


5. Hajj (Pilgrimage).

Every capable Muslim, financially, and physically is required to perform Hajj once in their lifetime. Hajj begins every year during the month of Dul Hejja which is the 12th month of the Islamic calendar.

Pilgrimage is performed by millions of Muslims every year. It’s performed by going to the holy city of Makkah to perform the rituals of Hajj. When performing Hajj all the sins and bad deeds are erased, and the person is given a new chance.


If you found the article helpful feel free to share it. If you still have any questions comment below and we will be more than glad to help you.  


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *